Note The open nature of the Sports Ground and the fact that most of its features are of 1970s vintage means that is showing distinct signs of wear and tear.
Despite its rather unkempt appearance however, the ground remains a popular destination for enthusiasts by virtue of the large barrel-roofed cover that stands behind the goal at the clubhouse end. Although it appears much older, it is in fact one of the more recent additions to the ground, and prior to the addition of a rear wall, was even more open than it is today. Nevertheless, its curved roof towers over the few steps of terracing beneath.
Another seated stand was previously erected at this (Stourbridge Road) end of the ground shortly after WW2, and when it was demolished, seating was transferred to the then new stand on the southern touchline, which dates from 1971. This is a of a very basic scaffolding and corrugated iron construction
The three-sided ground, the far end of which boasts a steep grass bank, is shared by the local cricket club, meaning that the northern touchline has a temporary rail to separate it from the cricket field. It been home to Lye Town since the club’s formation in 1930, when the pitch was then at right angles to its current position.
The clubhouse was opened in 1975, and stands on the site of the original dressing rooms, prior to which players changed in the nearby George pub. DB